Some Thoughts on Wilson’s “Spiritual Axiom”

“It is a spiritual axiom that every time we are disturbed, no matter what the cause, there is something wrong with us”, writes Bill Wilson on page 92 of “Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions”.  Well, this statement certainly disturbed me the first time I heard it read out at an AA step meeting about 17 years ago, and it still does.

My dictionary defines an axiom as “a self-evident truth or universally accepted principle”, yet I have never encountered this idea of Wilson’s, either in my early religious upbringing as a Catholic, or in my fairly extensive reading in the areas of comparative religion and philosophy as an adult.
Jesus Christ would certainly stand condemned by this “axiom” of Wilson’s as having a great deal wrong with him spiritually, judging by how “disturbed” and angry he was over the self-righteousness and hypocricy of the Pharisees and the behaviour of the money-changers in the Temple, according to the gospel accounts.
Historically, everyone from Martin Luther to Martin Luther King, who felt sufficiently strongly about injustice to want to right it, would be characterised as spiritually defective, according to Wilson’s way of thinking.
On a more everyday level, people who suffer distress as a result of abuse or social disadvantage beyond their control are implicitly deemed, according to Wilson’s “axiom”, to be somehow responsible for their suffering themselves. This is a contemptible message, and is indeed cause for a thinking and feeling person to be disturbed.

  1. cherih1958

    I had a sponsor who made me read that damn piece every day for 90 days. I was in a horrific abusive marriage – I stayed in it for 4 years longer than I would have without having been in AA.

    I left the program for 4 years and eventually did drink – because I wanted to. I came back into AA because I get in trouble when I drink. (I am an alcoholic – no doubt about that one). I am still in the program.

    My second husband is also in the program. But there are many aspects and statements I disagree with – and chose to ignore. I know I stay sober because I don’t drink. (duh) It’s easier to stay in the program and not drink than to leave it and not drink. (for me)

  2. andymar

    Yes, I wouldn’t say it is easy to leave AA behind, nor would I try to tell people who still think they benefit from meetings to stop going, but I wouldn’t advise anyone seeking help with a drink problem to go there.

  3. ahenobarbus458

    It is difficult for some to leave AA. A person can get caught up in it.
    I agree with advising against attending AA. It is not a safe place.




Leave a comment


  • Escaping from The AA CULT!..pass it it on!

    After joining AA when I WAS 19 i felt I would die a member of AA..im now so gratefull i will not!..im 45 now and a very happy x member of AA..the mind set of the members were the same where ever I went from the middle east to the south Pacific.. YOU ARE A LOSER IF YOU DRINK..OR YOU ARE NOT A REAL ALCOHOLIC IF YOU DRINK AGAIN AND ENJOY A LIFE!…When i was going on 20 years of not drinking I so wanted to drink just so i wouldnt feel like a loser having to say i was in AA for 20 years!! im just so thrilled at being able to a drink or leave it…wish i had done this after 5 years in AA as the big book should have recommended. This is the first time i have come accross such an excellent web site to help people that did get caught in the AA CULT…though I have met many people enjoying a full life after escaping from The AA CULT!..pass it it on!
  • I found this link from the boards of IMDb for the movie 28 DAYS.

    I’m an addict to alcohol and am leaving next week for rehab. I rebuked all “Hot Line” help that pushed centers that either were AA oriented or a psych ward! My reason, which I was eventually shunned by them, was the religious and cult aura of AA. It just wouldn’t work for me. It was kind of funny when I told some operators on the hot-lines that I found a place that wasn’t AA, 12 step, and religious, that I should attend a meeting of AA when I finish my six weeks. No “I’m glad you found a place” or “Good luck”. I guess I’m not in the club.
  • Comment of the Week



    In desperation, I had decided to give aa another shot, not believing that there was any other way. I was greeted warmly into the “fellowship”, which meant a lot to me, (as most people don’t care much for ex-hookers and aren’t comfortable with the knowledge that I may have blown their husbands). Immediately, I began to feel uncomfortable with the dirge-like use of cliches that were supposed to explain everything. Outside of these cliches, there were no answers. When I expressed concern, as an atheist, about turning my life over to a higher power that I did not have, I was directed to “stay open minded”, believe in a different god other than the god of the bible, or to read the chapter on the agnostic. My lack of belief means as much to me as the beliefs of a devout follower of jesus or mohammed and I had, nor have no wish to change. somehow, my position was not respected and I became an outcast, yet again. Now, as I attend the meetings I am forced to by my (aa based) program, I watch these people in wonder. I truly believe that the program is a cult and it’s only success comes from the new high and exhultation one recieves from belief. Count me out. From the Chieftest of Sinners
  • Recent Comments

    ahenobarbus458 on Some Thoughts on Wilson’…
    ahenobarbus458 on Escape from AA
    Chaz on Escape from AA
    baneberry7 on Escape from AA
    Chaz on Escape from AA
  • Recent Posts

  • Meta

  • Blog Stats

    • 128,061 hits
  • About True Tales From AA

    Once upon a time I used to spend a lot of time getting very, very drunk. I wasn’t pleased with myself for getting drunk so much but I couldn’t stop. Someone then told me I was an ‘alcoholic’ and that the only way I could stop drinking was to go to Alcoholics Anonymous.

    So I joined AA and spent a lot of time in church basements drinking powdered coffee and eating cheap biscuits trying to get rid of the ‘defects’ in my character, the defects that AA told me would keep me in the mess I was in.

    In AA I was introduced me to many concepts, and many ’suggestions’ were made to me. The concepts that I was supposed to work the hardest at were surrendering myself to a ‘Higher Power’ which would ‘awake’ me spiritually and in the meantime, while waiting for that Higher Power (or GOD) to take over, I should pray and pray and pray to get rid of those defects.

    Because, they said, if I didn’t get rid of those pesky defects I’d drink again and die.

    That was lie number One.

    This site is for people who didn’t have such a good time in AA or don’t believe any longer what AA told them. If attendance at Alcoholics Anonymous has been suggested to you as a possible treatment for a drinking problem, then only you’ll be able to decide whether meetings might help you.

    I, like many, many others have decided the meetings no longer help me.